Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This song, ‘Be Still and Know’ by Steven Curtis Chapman, has been a favorite of mine for years. Its quietly contemplative mood is basically the opposite of the chaos we usually associate with Monday mornings. This morning as I was gearing up for what promises to be another busy week, I found myself wishing for something to help me re-focus on what is really essential and I went looking for this song again. I was rushing too much, and I could tell – it was time to remember why I do what I do…and that I don’t do it alone.

It’s too easy for us to launch ourselves headlong into a schedule of meetings and deadlines and responsibilities without ever taking the time to be still in the presence of God. As people who are trying to live out a daily faith, we need to learn to live intentionally. The feelings of hollowness and meaninglessness that sometimes creep into our lives around the edges of our faith when we are overwhelmed by our schedule and our responsibilities are not a result of the lack of the Holy Spirit’s presence, but of our own inattention to the presence of the Holy Spirit. Everyone knows their own weaknesses and the areas where they tend to blow through time without actually consciously recognizing its passing or its source. For me, as someone who hates mornings and avoids getting up until the last possible minute, it’s actually quite difficult to get my brain into gear so that I begin the day with a God-centered focus. So I personally find it really helpful to take a few moments at the beginning of every workday, when I’m finally sitting at my desk and ready to begin working, to specifically dedicate the day to the Lord. Even setting aside time for a two-minute prayer can help my attitude toward the day’s work change significantly. Taking the time to focus on the Lord not only helps to reorient our perspective on the events of the day, but also reminds us that we are never walking through this helpless or alone. No matter what is scheduled for this week, no matter what difficulties are coming our way, our faithful God loves us, is with us and will equip us for every challenge.

“For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” (Ephesians 3:14-19)

