Tags

, , ,

Image

Recently I’ve been working through some really complex heart-things. Things that until a few months ago I didn’t realize even existed down there in the back corners of my soul. I won’t lie – it’s not been easy to pull up these pieces of myself and examine them. I don’t think many of us especially enjoy the painstaking process of allowing God to break us down in order to build us back up. And really I’m still in the middle of this movement toward wholeness, still turning thoughts and emotions and experiences over and over in my mind as God helps me to see them through His lens rather than my always-flawed human perception. But there is something so painfully beautiful in this process that my heart is full of a kind of agonizing joy. At moments like these it’s like I can feel my finite humanity stretched as it attempts to hold the infinite and overwhelming grace and love of God that works so freely in it. These are the controlled burns of the heart. They can’t be rushed, no matter what my impatient and limited mind demands.

I don’t know who will read this short post, and even less do I know for whom it might be meant, but I want to say this: If you feel yourself in the hands of the potter, being shaped, don’t try to rush His work. The patience and the waiting are worth the change that they bring. He makes everything beautiful in its time.

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
    a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
    a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
    a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
    a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

What do workers gain from their toil? 10 I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. 12 I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live.13 That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God. 14 I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him.

Ecclesiastes 3 (NIV)

