Psalm 147:7-11

Sing to the LORD with grateful praise;
make music to our God on the harp.

 He covers the sky with clouds;
he supplies the earth with rain
and makes grass grow on the hills.
He provides food for the cattle
and for the young ravens when they call.

 His pleasure is not in the strength of the horse,
nor his delight in the power of human legs;
the LORD delights in those who fear him,
who put their hope in his unfailing love.

When I was about 6 years old, the thing that I wanted most for Christmas was a baby carriage in which I could wheel my dolls around the house. Believe me when I say that this was nearly as important to me as a muscle car is to a man in midlife crisis – the baby buggy was an absolute necessity to bring satisfaction and fabulousness to my world! So when the time came for me to unwrap my gifts and I found that navy-blue buggy in a corner behind the Christmas tree, I almost died from delight! I was so thrilled, in fact, that I held onto that baby carriage through a move to a new city – and more than 10 years later it was still sitting out on my family’s porch, waiting to be played with by a new generation of kids.

Clearly, as human beings our threshold for delight starts out pretty low and gets higher as we age. When we’re children, a baby buggy might send us over the edge. When we get a little older, a new pair of beautiful shoes or a car will do the trick. Once we’re really adults, our delight comes from our friends or our loved ones, or from experiences like seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time. The ability to feel delight is one of the most enjoyable aspects of being human!

We might assume that since God is eternal, omniscient and omnipotent, He is beyond that sense of delight – or at least, that His delight would have to come from something so beyond amazing that we can’t even imagine what it might be. So what a shock it is to find out what really delights Him: us!! Over and over in scripture we read that the God who created everything feels delight when He looks at us and sees that our hearts are turned toward Him and we are obedient to Him. And if we, as humans, cherish the things that bring us delight, how much more do you think God cherishes us as He delights in our living acts of praise? So if you get discouraged or feel overlooked or unimportant, remember that as a child of God you are cherished and your life is bringing Him delight!

Psalm 149:3-5

Let them praise his name with dancing
and make music to him with timbrel and harp.
For the LORD takes delight in his people;
he crowns the humble with victory.
Let his faithful people rejoice in this honor
and sing for joy on their beds

