Tags

, , ,

Right now my dad is visiting me all the way from Florida, and while he’s here he requested that I make at least one dinner. So last night I made a meal of bone-in pork chops with a plum wine and cream sauce, mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, and a salad of herb-greens with a honey-ginger-balsamic vinegar dressing. It turned out really well, and although I’m rarely completely satisfied with the way a meal tastes after I’ve cooked it, this one came close to being exactly what I’d hoped for!

Unfortunately there isn’t a recipe because I made it up out of my head…but if I make it again I’ll try to make sure I measure things!!
If you are the kind of person who can figure things out without a recipe, here are the ingredients:
3 bone-in 3/4 inch pork chops
Fresh Ginger (about 1 inch total), grated
salt and pepper
Rub the pork chops with the ginger and salt and pepper. Sear in a heavy skillet over medium-high heat, 2 minutes on each side. Reduce heat to medium (or lower if your stovetop tends to get really hot and stay there), cover and cook for another 10 minutes or so, turning infrequently.
For the sauce:
Japanese plum wine
Chicken stock
Heavy cream
Butter
After you remove the pork chops from the pan and set them aside to rest, pour about 1 cup of plum wine into the pan to deglaze it. Stir for about a minute, scraping the pork bits off the bottom of the pan. Add about a cup and a half to two cups chicken stock, and stir. Allow this mixture to boil at high or medium-high heat until reduced to about half of the original. Reduce heat to medium. Add about half a cup of heavy cream and stir. Add about two to three tablespoons butter and stir. Allow mixture to come to a simmer and stir until it thickens. Remove immediately from heat and pour over pork chops to serve.
I didn’t need to add salt to mine because it was salty enough without it, but you can add salt and pepper to this if you feel like it needs it.
Also, I didn’t do it this time, but I think you could add mushrooms to the gravy and it would be delicious that way. You could just add them in at the point when you take the pork chops out of the pan, fry them at medium-high for a couple of minutes and then follow the other steps from there.
