Tags

, , ,

Lamentations 3:56-58

56 You heard my plea: “Do not close your ears
       to my cry for relief.”

 57 You came near when I called you,
       and you said, “Do not fear.”

 58 O Lord, you took up my case;
       you redeemed my life.

Some people are endlessly stuck in the past. I’m sure we all at some point have had a conversation with a friend who does nothing but reminisce about what used to be and how wonderful it all was in the days ‘before’. There are also those who live almost entirely in a world constructed of the events that have already ocurred, and sometimes they can’t let go of the pain and hurt they find as they walk in circles through the rooms of their memories. For some, this endless cycle of nostalgia is painful – for others it’s the place where they find the most security and comfort.

For me, however, it’s more difficult to turn my mind to the past than it is to live in the present. I find myself hard-pressed to remember the details of what has come and gone, content rather to simply live out the day and look toward the future. To a person who can’t escape their painful past, this may sound like a heavenly state to achieve, but I find that it’s often more frustrating than it is enjoyable. One of the downsides of ‘living in the present’ is that I don’t take enough time to contemplate and appreciate the amazing things God has done in my life over the years. I have been blessed in amazing and incredible ways, and yet I rarely set time aside to meditate on the moments when my Father has come near to me and said, “Do not fear.”

Today, I’m making a point to sit down and recall the blessings God has given me. There’s no doubt in my mind that if it was not for His grace so artfully placed throughout the moments of my life, I would not be the person I am today. I still want to live as a person who siezes the moment and who lives looking with expectation toward the future, but I also want to make sure that I never lose sight of the way God’s hand has worked in my past. Whether you are like me, or are a person whose mind frequently turns to the past, I encourage you today to join me in reflecting on the faithfulness of our beautiful Savior, the One who redeemed our lives.

Psalm 40:5

       “Many, O LORD my God,
       are the wonders you have done.
       The things you planned for us
       no one can recount to you;
       were I to speak and tell of them,
       they would be too many to declare.”

