Tags

, , , , , ,

Proverbs 24:13-14

13 Eat honey, my son, for it is good;
       honey from the comb is sweet to your taste.

 14 Know also that wisdom is sweet to your soul;
       if you find it, there is a future hope for you,
       and your hope will not be cut off.

In LaBelle, Florida there is a shop owned by the Harold P. Curtis Honey Company. It’s not a large shop, but the honey they sell is nothing short of miraculous. Although they sell a few different varieties of honey, the orange blossom honey really can’t be beat – it has a delicate floral quality to it that, for me at least, conjures up a particularly Floridian aura. When I was a child my family drove through LaBelle frequently on the way to visit family members, and I always looked forward to our stop at the “honey place” to get a honey stick I could suck on for the rest of the trip. And since I moved to Springfield, Missouri, the best gift anyone has given to me was a half-gallon of that same orange blossom honey I have been eating since I was a child. For months, every time I bit into a piece of toast drizzled with that honey, it was like taking a tiny trip back to my home.

The flavor of honey may seem simple, but in reality it’s very complex. Like a fine wine, honey has deep and subtle notes of flavor that have a powerful effect upon our senses as we taste it. In Proverbs, the poet compares the character of wisdom to the nature of honey – both are sweet to the person who has the chance to experience them. I believe the author also wanted us to notice that wisdom contains the complexity of honey. As we begin to seek wisdom from God, not only does it bring joy and sweetness of life to us, but it also brings the underlying assurance of hope for the future.

The flavor of orange blossom honey from the little shop in LaBelle will always bring me pleasant thoughts of the past. As we experience the wisdom that comes from God and make decisions based on that wisdom, we will be forever reassured that our future is in His hands and that it will be sweet.

Psalm 19:9-11

9 The fear of the LORD is pure,
       enduring forever.
       The ordinances of the LORD are sure
       and altogether righteous.

 10 They are more precious than gold,
       than much pure gold;
       they are sweeter than honey,
       than honey from the comb.

 11 By them is your servant warned;
       in keeping them there is great reward.

