Tags

, , ,

Psalm 138:8 “The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me; your love, O LORD, endures forever— do not abandon the works of your hands.”

If you were to look in the attic or garage of my family home, at all of the relics of my childhood, you might think I was the most well-rounded person in the world. The “stuff” I have left behind me over the years spans from old basketball and volleyball jerseys to Colonial costumes to beading sets to painted ceramics to various musical instruments to cooking utensils to…well, you get the idea.

It’s not that I’m super talented, or that I’m an expert at any of those things. It’s just that I have this terrible tendency that I fight pretty much all the time. I start a project or a hobby, pour energy into it, and then after a short time I get bored with it and set it aside unfinished. I’ve done it my whole life. In the beginning I’m super motivated, super excited about a new idea or project, and then in the end I lose interest and give it up to pursue something else. I’ve gotten better about this as I’ve gotten older, but I am still more easily distracted than I would prefer to be.

If God was at all like I am, we would be in serious trouble. We’d have to constantly worry that He was going to get tired of us or bored with us and set us aside. Truth be told, most days it wouldn’t be unfair of Him to want to do that to us. We struggle against Him, ignore Him, and we fail all the time. By technical standards of evaluation we’re kind of a failed project – one that started out perfect but rapidly disintigrated.

Of course, God is nothing like me! He’s eternal, He’s patient, and He’s faithful. God doesn’t get bored with us, doesn’t give up on us, and He’s never going to set us aside. This simple verse from Psalms reminds us of God’s promise to fulfill His purposes in our lives. We can rest easy as we live through this life, knowing that no matter what happens God will always be there – He loves us, and He will never abandon us!

